Selecting that option is perfect for processes that you don’t need to audit and you just need the logic to execute. However, if you need to keep a history of which workflows have executed on which records you should not select this option to delete the workflow job on completion (note that this option is disabled by default).
Setting to Auto Delete Succeeded System Jobs :
For Workflows :
If you open your workflow definition and go to the Administration tab, you will find the “Workflow Job Retention” option, under this you will see option to check “Automatically delete completed workflow jobs (to save disk space)”,
For Asynchronous Plug-In:
if you want plug-in related system jobs automatically deleted when the status is successful. (Note that this option is disabled by default for all asynchronous plugin steps).